Mad Fun

I like this photo. My husband likes to take photos while I’m trying to set the scene for him. The result can be very unflattering at times but those seem to be his favorites. I like this one because you can tell that I’m talking. I thought it might be fun to lead with this so that you can pretend that I am actually talking to you as you read my words. Just keep scrolling up and down so you don’t lose the image.

By now some of you may have seen my post for Sew Weekly. If not and you want the sewing details click here.

For this post I thought I’d talk a little about the hat.

I used 2 feet of wire fencing to make it. You can tell that I had Marc Jacob’s fabulous hats on the brain. It’s a similar silhouette only completely unsuitable for use in public. This hat will scratch you up. My husband fell victim to it  a couple of times and I went to bed with tiny little pricks and scratches. I am not joking when I tell you that my arms and hands felt like they were on fire. Nothing that a little lavender oil couldn’t fix. Looking at them now they make me feel proud as they are the result of passion and hard work.

I’m not going to tell you exactly how I did it unless you’re really interested. Which wouldn’t make sense unless you’re going to make one for yourself. if you are, may I recommend that you not hug anyone when you wear it and if you’re going to be in public make sure you sit at the table that’s farthest away from the crowd?

I found the flowers at a thrift store. They really are the perfect touch. I wove them through the screen layering here and there. It took me a while to get it right.

My Photoshopping skills are still not amazing but I think I’m getting better. There was actually a house behind me right behind the hat. The greenery fell on the sides so I played around and managed to make it look OK. It was tricky because you can see through the hat and I needed to preserve the look of the screen as best as I could. The effect is not consistent but I like it.

Is there anything else to say? I don’t think so. I will say that there is something so satisfying about making the stirrings of your imagination come to life. Life becomes richer and more interesting. Even if it’s just for that moment. It’s what pushes me to try and do it again and again. Yes, sometimes I fail and that’s no fun but somehow it’s still OK. Not crushing. That’s cool. Very cool.

See you later-I’m out!

One thought on “Mad Fun

  1. I am so impressed with all of this from the top of your head to your toes, an amazing ensemble! I’m also so amazed that you pulled all of this together including dying a wig in such a short amount of time, plus juggling all the other daily and weekly things, like feeding the kiddo!

    It’s eye candy for sure, thank you for the amazing inspiration! You look great!

Leave a Reply

