I am tried of waiting for it to warm up so I can go outside and have some pictures taken of me in the few things I’ve made. I need to show you all that I have been sewing. I am not super happy with everything I’ve made but that’s mostly because it’s all black for work. I do plan on making some more colorful pieces now. I have to. All black 40hrs a week and cold and snow in March is making me very unhappy. I need some happy. Quick.

So here are some pictures of what I’ve made so far. Nothing too complicated-

photo-8I hate this top. The only reason I haven’t gotten rid of it is because I hadn’t photographed it yet. The pattern is McCall’s 6652 and I’m sure I bought the pattern because I have always loved that whole hi-lo thing. It may have looked a bit better if I’d used colorful or printed fabric but I still hate the design of the top. I did wear it to work though to see if it would grow on me. I’m happy to be getting rid of it. Here’s the back-

photo-9

The next piece I made was this sweatshirt-

photo-7Why a sweatshirt? Because they’re very “in” right now and they’re warm. My store gets pretty cold and I get tired of blazers and sweaters. It’s a fun way to sneak a casual piece into a professional environment. The pattern, McCall’s 6614, didn’t have a band at the bottom so I added one but didn’t think to shorten the length so it’s a bit too long. the neckline is also a bit too high for me but I do like the way it came out-

photo-6Looks like a braid, I have bit of the fabric left and would like to make a skirt.

Project #3 was this dress-

photo-5This is Butterick 5986. Here’s a picture so you get a better idea of what it’s supposed to look like on.

UnknownI actually like the dress I just don’t like it in black. I wish you could see it on. I raised the hemline in front a bit to show a little more leg. I think this would be fun in a printed fabric with Spring colors. My plan is to make it again. Maybe for an Easter dress. Here’s a close up of the bottom-

photo-4Not that it really matters. The fabric really is depressing. I’ve put it on so many times but have decided I have to wait until it warms up a bit. Then I can try it with fun shoes and funky jewelry It’s just too much with black tights.

My final piece is this pair of “jeans”-

photo-2photo-3I was testing out the pattern (McCall’s 6707) and decided to try it in denim. Thought I’d sneak a pair of jeans in to work. It didn’t work out so well. There was too much stretch in the fabric and by the end of the day they were a bit baggy. i did have to take them in quite a bit too because I like a more fitted pant. You’d think they’d be pretty slim from the picture on the pattern-

mQIpsX9nz-P1PoIsC-3lgWgI do have slender legs so that might be it. I shortened the tab in front too. I thought an extended tab in denim would be too much. I’d like to make another pair just haven’t decided on the colors yet.

I also made a robe for my son and a dress for work. The dress is terrible. I needed something with red in it to show my support for heart health and bought some fabric I wasn’t thrilled with, threw it on the floor, and cut out a dress shape. Sort of like the Grinch in the cartoon. Sewed it together and wore it under a blazer. It was really bad. I will not  take a picture of it. It’s that bad. The funny thing is, I got a lot of compliments on it.

So there you have it. I would love to make something for some upcoming meetings but don’t want to put that sort of pressure on myself. I’ll be meeting our new VP in April at our nationwide meeting and I always make an extra effort to look good at these meetings. It’s got to be extra extra good this year. I’m also co-hosting an event for a major insurance company and want to make sure I’m looking my best. You never know who you’ll meet.

I haven’t started on anything new yet but will soon.         G

